2014 Speakers

The following is the 2014 speakers for the summit that has already passed.

Wal Van Lierop

President & CEO Chrysalix Summit Chairman

Raj Atluru

Managing Director SilverLake Kraftwerk

François Badoual

CEO Total Energy Ventures

Juan Benitez

Senior Specialist Cenovus Environmental Opportunity Fund Cenovus Energy

Thomas Brill

Director of Strategic Planning New Products & Services San Diego Gas & Electric Company

Colleen Calhoun

Senior Executive Director
GE Ventures

John Carrington

CEO & Director Stem

Andrew Chung

Partner Khosla Ventures

Will Coleman

Managing Director OnRamp Capital

Katie Fehrenbacher

Senior Writer & Features Editor GigaOM

Steve Foster

Managing Director ClearSky Power & Technology Fund

Jean-Michel Gires

Venture Partner Chrysalix EVC

Gerd Goette

Investment Partner Venture Capital Siemens Venture Capital

Skip Grow

Managing Director Clean Technology Group Morgan Stanley

Jeff Guild

Vice President Business Development & Professional Services BlueTech Research

Steven Hall

Regional VP Schlumberger

Steve Hester

President & CEO 212 Resources

David Kirkpatrick

Director Marathon Capital

David Lincoln

Managing Partner Element Partners

Dr. Cheryl Martin

Acting Director Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy (ARPA-E)

David Mohler

Vice President Emerging Technology Duke Energy

Carrie Norton

Founder & CEO Green Business BASE CAMP

Mark Nydam

Principal HarbourVest

Terry O’Day

Vice President NRG EV Services

Sara Olson PhD

Research Analyst Lux Research

Carla Peterman

CA Public Utilities Commissioner

Brook Porter

Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

Allan Schurr

Vice President Energy & Utilities IBM

Peter Shannon

Managing Director Firelake Capital Management

Andrew Shapiro

Founder Broadscale Group

Susan B. Snyder

Partner Vinson & Elkins

Cory Steffek

Managing Director
North American Venture Capital
Saudi Aramco Energy Ventures

Paul Straub

Director Claremont Creek Ventures

William Torre

Program Director Energy Storage Systems UCSD Center for Energy Research

Joe Vaillancourt

Vice President Corporate Venturing Waste Management

Aharon Weiner

Senior Director Solutions, Marketing & Customer Engagement Opower

Abe Yokell

Partner RockPort Capital Partners

Past High-Level Speakers

The Most Forward Thinking CEOs

Jim Hughes Jim Hughes Chief Executive Officer
First Solar
Lyndon Rive Lyndon Rive Co-Founder and CEO
Elon Musk Elon Musk Chief Executive Officer
Tesla Motors
Tom Werner Tom Werner Chief Executive Officer
SunPower Corporation
John Woolard John Woolard Chief Executive Officer
Tom Siebel Tom Siebel Chairman and CEO
C3 Energy
Bill Watkins Bill Watkins Chief Executive Officer
Andrew Littlefair Andrew Littlefair President & CEO
Clean Energy Fuels
T.J. Rodgers T.J. Rodgers Founder and CEO
Cypress Semiconductors
Scott Lang Scott Lang President, and CEO
Silver Spring Networks
Malcolm Unsworth Malcolm Unsworth President and CEO
Marc Verbruggen Marc Verbruggen President and Chief Executive Officer
David Vieau David Vieau President and CEO
A123 Systems
Adrian Tuck Adrian Tuck Chief Executive Officer
David Schramm David Schramm President & Chief Executive Officer
Maxwell Technologies
Shai Agassi Shai Agassi Founder
Better Place

Key Energy Policymakers & Influencers

Ernie Moniz Ernie Moniz
United States Secretary of Energy
David Sandalow David Sandalow Under Secretary of Energy
Assistant Secretary for Policy & International Affairs
Dan Esty Dan Esty Commissioner
Connecticut Energy and Environment
John Podesta John Podesta CEO
Center for American Progress
Jon Wellinghoff Jon Wellinghoff Chairman
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Dan Arvizu Dan Arvizu Director
Dan Reicher Dan Reicher Executive Director
Steyer-Taylor Center on Energy Policy and Finance, Stanford University
Bill Richardsson Bill Richardsson Former Governor New Mexico and U.S. Secretary of Energy
Arthur R. Rosenfeld Arthur R. Rosenfeld Commissioner
California Energy Commission
Jonathan Silver Jonathan Silver Former Executive Director
U.S. Department of Energy’s Loan Guarantee Program
William K. Reilly William K. Reilly Former U.S. EPA Administrator
Terry Tamminen Terry Tamminen Cullman Senior Fellow, New America Foundation
Former Secretary, Cal EPA
Bill Ritter Bill Ritter Former Governor of Colorado
Director, Center for the New Energy Economy
Mike Carr Mike Carr Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary
U.S. Department of Energy
Jeff Bingaman Jeff Bingaman Former U.S. Senator
New Mexico


John McDonald John McDonald Chief Technology Officer
T. Boone Pickens T. Boone Pickens Founder and Chairman
BP Capital Management
Jim Rogers Jim Rogers Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer
Duke Energy
Peter Darbee Peter Darbee Chairman, CEO and President
PG&E Corporation
Greg Boyce Greg Boyce Chairman and CEO
Peabody Energy
Michael Allman Michael Allman President and CEO
Southern California Gas Company
Denis Giorno Denis Giorno Vice President
Gas & Power Division of Total S.A.
Reyad Fezzani Reyad Fezzani Chief Executive Officer
BP Solar
Vikram Rao Vikram Rao Former CTO
Anne Pramaggiore Anne Pramaggiore President and COO

Corporates Making a Difference

Dr. Arun Majumdar Dr. Arun Majumdar Director, Energy Initiatives
Matt Kistler Matt Kistler Senior Vice President, Sustainability
Wal-Mart Stores
Jon Lauckner Jon Lauckner Vice President
General Motors
Larry O’Donnell Larry O’Donnell President and Chief Operating Officer
Waste Management, Inc.
Rob Bernard Rob Bernard Chief Environmental Strategist
Mark L. Vachon Mark L. Vachon Vice President
GE ecomagination

The Brightest Minds Who Aren’t Afraid to Push the Envelope

Daniel Yergin Daniel Yergin
Ralph Cavanagh Ralph Cavanagh Co-Director
NRDC Energy Program
Reed Hundt Reed Hundt Chief Executive Officer
Coalition for Green Capital
Amory Lovins Amory Lovins Chairman
Rocky Mountain Institute
Hunter Lovins Hunter Lovins President and Founder
Natural Capitalism Solutions
John Hofmeister John Hofmeister Founder and CEO
Citizens for Affordable Energy, Inc.
Dr. Steven E. Koonin Dr. Steven E. Koonin
Carl Pope Carl Pope Chairman
Sierra Club
Andrew Shapiro Andrew Shapiro Founder
Green Order
Christine Ervin Christine Ervin Founder
U.S. Green Buildings Council
Christopher Flavin Christopher Flavin President
Worldwatch Institute
Peter Schwartz Peter Schwartz Co-Founder and Chairman
Global Business Network
Matthew R. Simmons Matthew R. Simmons
Nancy Skinner Nancy Skinner U.S. Director
The Climate Group
Donald Paul Donald Paul Executive Director
Energy Institute at the University of Southern California